Posted on

March 22nd, 2022 Board Meeting Minutes

MOKSACVPR Board / Education Meeting

March 15, 2022


  • Present: Sandy Abbott, Carolyn Beard, Amy Choitz, Dawnie Ellison, Stephanie Gerlach, Tiffanie Holman, Sonny McNeilis, Sharon Little-Stoetzel, Tedd Walsh, Tricia Walsh, Snizhana Weber
  • Absent: Seth Donaldson, Tiffany Green


  • Meeting called to order at 0700 by Amy Choitz
  • February meeting minutes sent via email. Approved unanimously.

New Business:

  • Board and Education committee members are to meet at 1100 on 4/1/22. Amy will email location.
  • Board and Education committee members are to meet at 0645 on 4/2/22 at Graceland University.  

Old Business:

Committee Reports:

  • Treasurer’s ReportTricia Walsh
  • Reviewed transactions
    • AACVPR CEU application paid
    • Holistic Nurse CEU application paid
    • Strategic Meeting checks sent
    • Credits coming in from conference registration
    • Notepads paid
    • Stethoscope / Pulse Ox paid
  • Tricia working on spreadsheet and will send via email
  • Genetech is the only vendor with payment due
  • Approximately 70 new conference registrations to process
  • Refund request from Lake Regional.  Board approved to refund registration fees.
    • Note: Add “No Refunds” next conference
  • Education—Seth Donaldson / Sandy Abbott
    • 2022 Conference
      • Vendors:
        • Levels: $700 Gold, $1200 Platinum 
        • Need videos from Platinum vendors 
        • Need logo and payment from Genetech
  • Speakers:
  • PowerPoints needed: Lisa Gillen, Snizhana Weber, Matt Thomas, Tonja Bell, Susan Flack.  
  • Sandy will contact Matt Thomas, Tonja Bell, and Susan Flack
  • Tricia will contact Lisa Gillen
  • Snizhana has Erin Moyer and will send to Amy
  • Jane Martin will be allowed to have table with her books in lobby.  However, she cannot make announcement about books in her lecture. 
  • Food:
    • Breakfast will be delivered 0645-0700
    • Lunch will be delivered 1130-1145
    • Coffee at breakfast and afternoon
    • Social: 
      • No masks required
      • Attendees will get 2 tickets for drinks
      • Cash bar
      • Order 2 fruit trays, 2 chips / salsa trays
  • CEU’s:
    • AACVPR, Holistic Nurse, and RT applications have been sent
    • Tricia will have sign in sheets available from registrations
    • Dawnie will bring list of RT sign in sheets and copies of RT CEU certificates, Carolyn will bring blank copies of other CEU certificates.  Tiffanie and Sandy will manage CEU’s at conference.
      • If person misses more than 10 minutes of lecture.  They will be deducted credits. 
  • Prizes / Gift Bags:
    • Jane Martin donated one of her books
    • Stethoscope–purchased
    • Pulse Ox-purchased
    • Registration to next year MOKS conference
    • Gift bags:
  • Notebooks / pen, agenda, scavenger hunt card, map, evals
  • Video / Photography:
    • If we decide to video any lecture, we will need consent from speaker
    • Sandy will take photos during conference
  • Standards and Issues—Sonny McNeilis
    • DOTH registration open now—March 7-18, 2022
      • Virtual 
      • Sonny has 4 appointments made at this time
      • Encourage staff to send letter to representatives regarding H. R. 1956
      • H.R. 3348 (off campus departments) now has 26 sponsors
      • H.R. 1956 (NP supervision) now has 42 sponsors
  • Communications—Tedd Walsh / Snizhana Weber
    • Early Bird reminder sent last week
    • Send new email requestion questions for pharmacist and diet lecture, registration, Member of the Year nominations, and basket reminder. 
    • Stephanie Gerlach may be interested in communications chair position.
  • Certification—Carolyn Beard
    • Application reviews until 5/16/22
    • 655 applications
  • Value-Based CareTedd Walsh
    • No updates
  • Nominations—Tedd Walsh
    • Member of the Year
      • Send nominations to Tedd
      • Nominee must be member of MOKS
      • Send Constant Contact for nominations
  • Upcoming Board Positions
    • Past President: Amy Choitz
    • President (2022): Tedd Walsh
    • President Elect (2023): Tricia Walsh
    • Secretary (2022-2024): Tiffanie Holman
    • Treasurer (2023): Sharon Little-Stoetzel
    • Mo Member at Large (2021-2023): Sonny McNeilis
    • KS Member at Large (2022-2024): Amy Choitz
    • Standards & Issues: Sonny McNeilis
    • Program Certification: Carolyn Beard
    • Education Co-Chairs: Seth Donaldson and Sandy Abbott
    • Nominations: Tricia Walsh
    • Communications: Stephanie Gerlach (?)
    • Website Coordinators: Amy Choitz and Seth Donaldson (Seth needs access to website)  

Board meeting:  April 19, 2022 at 0700

Education meeting:  April 5, 2022 at 0700

Minutes submitted by Tiffanie Holman